When and how to do an administrative appeal?


Prepare an administrtive appeal

You've applied for a visa for France and it has been denied?

The administrative appeal is advantageous when the visa refusal is clearly due to an administrative mistake. In this case, the administration which denied the visa may agree to reconsider its decision in a shorter period of time than a procedure to the Appeals Court

The administrative appeal is also suitable if you have forgotten to submit some supporting documents in your visa application. In this case, rather than reapply or appeal to the Appeals Board, it is sometimes better to try to get a favorable decision directly with the consulate or embassy.

Finally, in cases of extreme urgency, an administrative appeal may be faster than an emergency court procedure. Indeed, you could get a positive response to your appeal within days at the embassy or consulate, versus 15 days to 3 weeks in the case of an emergency court procedure.

If you are in one of these 3 situations, we advise you to make an administrative appeal with the consulate. This appeal must be made within 2 months:

  • from the notification of the negative decision, for an express refusal;
  • from the end of 2-month period without response, for an implicit refusal.
  • You want to make an administrative appeal to get your visa?

    GetMyVisaToFrance accompanies you throughout your process

    Find our other information guides:

Quand et comment faire un recours gracieux ?

Vous avez fait une demande de visa pour la France et ce dernier vous a été refusé ?

Le recours gracieux est avantageux lorsque le refus de visa est manifestement motivé par une erreur grossière de l’administration. Dans ce cas, l’administration qui vous a refusé votre visa peut accepter de revoir sa décision dans des délais plus brefs qu’une procédure devant la CRRV.

Le recours gracieux est également adapté si vous vous avez oublié de présenter certaines pièces lors de la demande de visa. Dans ce cas, plutôt que de refaire une demande ou de saisir la CRRV, il vaut parfois mieux essayer d'obtenir une décision favorable directement auprès du consulat ou de l’ambassade.

Enfin, dans les cas d’extrême urgence, un recours gracieux peut être plus rapide qu’une procédure de référé. En effet, vous pouvez obtenir une réponse positive à votre recours sous quelques jours auprès de l’ambassade ou du consulat, contre 15 jours à 3 semaines dans le cas d’une procédure d’urgence du tribunal.

Si vous êtes dans l’une de ces 3 situations, nous vous conseillons de faire un recours gracieux auprès du consulat. Ce recours doit être fait dans un délai de 2 mois :

  • à compter de la notification de la décision de refus pour un refus exprès ;
  • à compter de la fin de la période de 2 mois sans réponse, pour un refus implicite.
  • Vous voulez faire un recours gracieux pour obtenir votre visa ?

    Get My Visa vous accompagne tout au long de votre démarche.

    Retrouvez nos autres guides d'information :